Testing/QA environment in Azure for Facebook application

With ongoing quite extensive modifications of core business rules for Am I Interesting, I need a testing environment where I can deploy my application so that other selected people (my partners in crime) can help test out that everything works the way it should before we release into production.

My initial idea was to do this by deploying to the staging slot of my existing Hosting Service is Azure, but this was not a good solution for me because:

  • I need a predictable URL for this environment. When deploying to the staging slot in Azure, a GUID-looking URL is automatically generated that cannot be changed, and this does not work for me since I have to put this URL in the Facebook application settings.
  • I am using Facebook C# SDK for authentication from my ASP.NET MVC application that reads all Facebook settings, including the application URL, from web.config, which cannot be modified after deployment. And I don’t know the URL before the application is deployed.
  • The staging slot for Azure is really intended for a final smoke test before going into production and should therefore have a production-like physical setup, but for my testing environment I only want/need one Extra Small instance to save cost.

The solution therefore was to create a new Hosted Service and use its production slot, which has a known URL, for my testing environment:

An arguable disadvantage of using a new Hosting Service with a predictable and fixed public URL is that it’s more likely to be hit by users who shouldn’t have access to the testing environment. However, this is not a big issue in my case since the Facebook sandbox mode prevents users, other than those that I have explicitly configured, from getting access to the application.

As any other testing environment, I need storage that’s separated from production, so I have created a new SQL Azure database also setup a new storage account for tables and queues (the “p2piter” account below is the one I use in production):

I have then setup a new Facebook application (in sandbox mode) and pointed that application to the new URL:

To ease deployment, I have added a new Service Configuration with settings specific for the testing environment, like connection strings to Azure Storage and SQL Azure:

Also, I’ve added a new build configuration with a corresponding web.config transformation that contains, among other things, the Facebook application settings that the Facebook C# SDK reads:

When it’s time to deploy, I can now simply choose my new service and build configuration to create the complete deployment package:

Done! 🙂

One thought on “Testing/QA environment in Azure for Facebook application

  1. Pingback: Facebook Application Settings | Benaughty Facebook

Leave a Reply

